The most excellent tuna salad. Evah.

Years ago, near where I worked was a small deli that we all would traipse over to for lunch.  It had standard deli fare: chili, different soups for each day, sandwiches on wheat, white or rye…you know the plan.  Once I just didn’t ‘feel it’ reading the specials of the day and decided, instead, to have a tuna fish sandwich.  My mom showed me how to make them very early on but I had tweaked her original method to something a bit more.  But let me tell you about this deli version….man, oh man!  The absolute best tuna salad I had ever had.  I asked the owner (Bruce? Ned? I forget now) what he used in it to make it taste so good.  He told me that it was his mother’s creation and he couldn’t share it.

Sad face.

I ate a tuna fish sandwich there every week for as long as they were open.  And since, I had them to make it for me, I didn’t worry about not have the ingredients.  And then they closed and I cried.  Dang it!

Back at the home front, I attempted many, many ingredients to try to match his.  And the following tastes just like it.  I found the secret ingredient they had used!  And I really stumbled upon it, too.  You know how the saying goes, “A little of this and a little of that” is how it came to be.

See?  This is all the ingredients…..

IMG_1664

I like a little crunch in my tuna salad and a combo of celery, shallots and pickle work out just fine.

IMG_1667

I diced up about two tablespoons of each but only used one each.  And the little pickles I had were only about two inches long.  I used all of that.

IMG_1668 IMG_1670

For the usual 5 ounce can of tuna, I use about 1.5 tablespoons of mayonnaise.  This is the paleo mayonnaise that I make.

And the next ingredient is the secret ingredient that just makes this tuna salad the best!  Who knew?  Worcestershire Sauce!  I used 3 teaspoons of this in my salad finishing it off with salt and pepper.

IMG_1671 IMG_1672

Some people like more of a ‘soupy’ tuna salad with using much more mayo than what I do.  That’s ok with me….I just prefer mine in the sandwich category not the soup category. 😉

Mix it well and then?  Scoop out the insides of a whole tomato and stuff the tuna into that.  Or, make yourself the all time sandwich using lettuce, tomato, and avocado.  Also, you can use either the dill pickle relish or the sweet pickle relish.  Either taste great here.

Tuna Fish Salad

  • 5 oz canned tuna in olive oil, drained
  • 1.5 T mayonnaise
  • 2 T chopped dill pickle
  • 1 T chopped celery
  • 1 T chopped shallot (or green onions)
  • 3 t Worcestershire Sauce
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Mix well and eat!

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2014-01-06 at 2.36.59 PM

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The most excellent tuna salad. Evah.

  1. Farie says:

    Yummy! We will have to try this one!

  2. Farie says:

    P.S. Love, love, love the header photo! Nice colors!

Leave a comment