Going Green, or More Ways to Suck Up Your Free Time

In one of my first blog posts I shared that Hubby and I decided to begin living a simpler lifestyle. Well, that was a couple of years ago now, and we’ve become wiser about the catch phrase, “simpler.”

First of all, simpler doesn’t mean quicker. This isn’t a new lesson. I learned this when we first moved from our sprawling ranch house within the city limits, to our small, ranch home on acreage. My drive to work didn’t change much, as I was commuting nearly 30 minutes to my job, but my husband’s drive went from 15 minutes to 30 minutes. However, shopping trips are now nearly 30 minutes away instead of 10, so free time gets sucked up behind the wheel.

After we moved to the country, the first thing we did was start composting. Why not? We now had lots of land, so were no longer concerned with the fact that our previously small space probably couldn’t take the odoriferous contributions that can go hand in hand with a compost pile. We also wanted a garden and were aware of how that could benefit the soil. Another added benefit is that it reduces your garbage pick-up fees, by reducing the amount of rubbish that gets picked up by the trash man. But now you have a container that needs to be dumped and cleaned out and a pile that needs to be turned to get the most benefit.

We also recycle. We have an extensive collection of receptacles whereby we sort cans and bottles that we get a deposit back on, tin cans and glass, as well as plastics. Did I mention that we live nearly 30 minutes from town? So, on recycling day, we do it all at once.

Most recently I decided that I wanted to continue on the “Going Green” Journey, and saved my pretty pennies up for a clothesline. Yes, you heard right! It’s a beauty, too! It’s a square contraption that looks much like an upside down umbrella, and it collapses when you don’t want to look at it. This lovely item set me back about $40. I figured that it would save me some money on the electric bill with the dryer.

Well, I can’t complain about its performance, it does a great job drying our clothing. However, in all my excitement over getting it, I had forgotten how LONG it takes to hang everything up. Washer to dryer probably took 30 seconds, tops. It can take me 10 to 15 minutes to hang the darn clothes! The clothing has a wonderful, stiff texture, too. Oh, and did I mention wrinkles? So, if it’s more than I can stand, then I have to iron. So, then I lose a few more free minutes to the iron, and my electric bill increases as well.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to stop hanging our clothes, I really can’t afford to, the thing hasn’t even paid for itself yet. The one thing I have learned from all of this simplification is that this lifestyle is becoming more of a contradiction every day. But, I wouldn’t change it for anything.

You’ll have to excuse me, I have some ironing to do.

About Farie

I am a country girl that recently came home after 15 years of "city" living. At the age of 40, I got a horse and fell in love with a little girl my husband and I adopted. I love to cook, read, run, garden and write.
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Going Green, or More Ways to Suck Up Your Free Time

  1. Fae says:

    Oh My!! When we were first married, the apartments didn’t have laundry rooms so off to the laundromat it was for us. Then our first home…yep. A clothesline. I remember the buying bag after bag of clothespins. (would kids even know what those are now?) and then standing and inching along hanging the clothes to dry. Our first born knew the feel of sun dried onesies. We knew the feel of scratchy towels and linens. Yes, it was a simpler time and I DO NOT miss the ironing one. little. bit. no. siree.!

Leave a comment